THE MALLORCAN WEDDING EXPERIENCE

Yahct Club
The Yacht Club Cala Dor

The frozen northerner has not holidayed in any of the Balearic isles or Spain for that matter, for a considerable number of years, so it was going to be interesting experience going back, why was I returning, well, the answer is very simple, my youngest son and his bride to be were to be married in Cala D’or on the beautiful island of Mallorca. Situated on the south-east coast of the island Cala D’or is a very popular destination for thousands of Britons during the summer months and is about an hour’s drive from the islands capital Palma. So, the only question was the frozen northerner who, is not noted as being the most sociable, going to enjoy the experience, myself along with my wife the Contessa Di La Proctero and the rest my family stayed at Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca, this hotel was perfect for a family holiday/wedding and I have to say exceeded all of my expectations. Rather than have one long stretch of beach Cala D’or has a huge range of delightful alternatives with the coastline being dotted with lots of small sandy coves and bays. The wedding took place at the Cala D’or Yacht club which is located at the marina at Cala Llonga, having never been to a wedding abroad I was interested to see this occasion compared to the rather more formal weddings we have at home. Casual and laid back would probably best describe the event and a very pleasant day was had by all, I cannot thank the staff of the yacht club enough, as they went out of their way to ensure that my son and his bride had the perfect day. Before I went on this trip I was filled with apprehension, both about the wedding and the location chosen however, I have to say it was one the best weeks of my life and that is saying something, the wedding may have been the highlight of the holiday, but don’t underestimate Cala D’or and especially the yacht club because they are a great place to visit.

Blanca Beach
Aparthotel Ferrera Blanca Beach

Beach1Beach2Beach3

Leave a Reply

